.

LETTER: Lamb Responds to Dykema

Lamb says Dykema is trying to "mislead the voters."

Submitted by Marty Lamb

Dear Editor, 
I am writing in response to your article regarding incumbent for senior votes. 
Rep. Dykema takes a swipe at me in the article. I’m disappointed that she would involve me in any way. The complaint was filed by the Massachusetts Republican Party and she needs to answer for the violation of campaign finance law. I have obeyed all the laws. 
I am extremely disappointed she is trying to mislead your readers and the voters. I proposed a Clean Campaign Pledge last spring. She refused to sign it. 
All of my press releases, campaign literature and statements have been on the issues. I disagree with her voting record. For example, I think it is wrong to force home daycare centers into a state union or to raise taxes by $1 billion during a recession. My last press releases were on small business reforms and holding weekly office hours. 
I am the one saddened by her disappointing remarks attempting to blame others or to suggest that anyone is against seniors. I think people have had enough of political spin. I remain committed to abiding by all the rules and I hope that she will apologize for her remarks.

Marty Lamb

Karen Adamson September 07, 2012 at 05:01 PM
Dykema violates campaign laws and blames someone else. What could be worse. She even said she was doing this right in the article. These corporate donations are illegal. She thinks it's OK for her to do it, and no one else. She's the one at fault. She should apologize. Her campaign material is handed out, and she wants to claim it's not a campaign event. Her campaign promoted it. Does she think she is above the law? Or is she claiming ignorance? It's unfair ! I thought she was a better person than this. Had enough !
Iron Mike September 07, 2012 at 05:03 PM
Don't wast time being 'disappointed' Marty – it is merely the sad state of Government here in Taxachusetts. 60+ YEARS of Democrat-dominated state government has led to multi-generational CONTEMPT for the LAW. Those in power believe they're ABOVE the Law – because – after all – they WROTE it! In her defense, Mz. Dykema probably never bothered to check the law. Why should she? “They all do it”, - and it's what she's seen go on for decades, since she was a girl. Now she's flailing at anything within reach. MassDEM party Chair John Walsh can be of little help to her – he just 'stepped it it' himself in Charolette – and had to apologize. Plus he has the Indian Princess to deal with. AND, any day now the Probation Dept jobs-for-favors indictments will drop in his lap. So keep running strong Marty – we need you and candidates like you to turn this beast around.
Bacon Hill September 07, 2012 at 05:17 PM
There is one honest candidate in this race and it is not Dykema. Go Marty Lamb!
Kelly Roney September 07, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Dan Haley, a constructive Republican unlike Teapublican Marty Lamb, has this take on Lamb's allegation: http://www.metrowestdailynews.com/news/x1526497188/GOP-complaint-against-Dykema-is-unfair-former-opponent-says. Watch what people do. Carolyn runs respectful, issues-oriented campaigns. Lamb runs petty attacks filled with half-truths and outright falsehoods. One thing I notice in his letter: He never denies being the source of this bogus campaign finance complaint. But I'd be skeptical of his truthfulness even if he did.
Iron Mike September 07, 2012 at 08:00 PM
ISSUES Mister Roney? Let Mz Dykema explain her positions on... - our $103 BILLION state DEBT? - why she voted to hurt the Mom&Pop day care centers? - why she never demanded that the Governor sign on with Secure Communities? - why she's been silent about EBT fraud? - why she keeps voting more money for that sinkhole known as the MBTA? Calling Marty a 'Teapublican' [BTW, what DOES that mean] doesn't help voters understand why YOU think she's worthy of re-election. It does make you - a key supporter - look like you're out of ammo. Maybe in a separate LTE you should explain what you've got against your patriotic, conservative, Constitution-loving, God-fearing fellow citizen neighbors. BUT, right NOW the ISSUE before the voters is Mz. Dykema's über-liberal voting record, her ignoring our debt, and her breaking campaign finance laws. Her attitude doesn't help her much either... AND, ...does she have a CLUE about how to get manufacturing JOBS to come back to our state?
Kelly Roney September 07, 2012 at 11:07 PM
Carolyn voted for EBT reform. But you weren't paying attention. Her vote on daycare will help the family daycare providers. The MBTA is an essential service to many people who actually live here in this district, unlike you, Rusty Mike. Massachusetts has an enviable unemployment rate, compared to many other states. It can still be better, but Carolyn will be far more effective that your buddy would be, should we ever have the poor judgement to send him to misrepresent us. What have you got against Massachusetts, Mike? Our public schools are number one. Our healthcare is blazing trails for America. We do more for our veterans than any other state. Our credit rating is excellent. Our economy is a vibrant private-public partnership filled with all the advanced industries that come from a well-educated populace. We're very entrepreneurial. Our incomes are high. Crime is low. Forbes Magazine says that our quality of life is the best of any state. These are results that would make most people happy. Why are you so peevish and disgruntled?
Iron Mike September 08, 2012 at 04:14 AM
Please explain Mister Roney, are you Mz Dykema's OFFICIAL spokesman – or just a self-anointed one? Doesn't matter, I think it's past time for HER to speak directly to the questions and the issues. Frankly most of the 'facts' you keep spouting ring hollow to me. I can SEE the empty storefronts and the empty factories. I've talked with hundreds of young people, including recent high school grads; I know how empty their education has been on civics, economics, history, and government. They don't know squ^t; – they've been taught 'feelings' – not FACTS, - and our nation is poorer for it. This deliberate dumbing-down of our kids has been a great success story of the Democratic Party in bed with teachers unions. Think otherwise? Spend 2 hours with me in the mall of your choice on a Friday night – let's say Sept 14th – as I survey teenagers and young adults. You just watch – and see how poorly they do. Could you keep silent and just watch for 2 hours? Meanwhile, stop clinging to that Forbes article. CNBC has a better cross-economy survey – ranks Mass #49 for cost of doing business. [Hawaii was #50 – the trains don't run there.] They gave us #11 for 'quality of life – IF a person can afford to live here.
Karen Adamson September 08, 2012 at 04:14 AM
Right on Lamb, Proof is in the pudding http://fleming-hayes.com/2012/09/busted-democrat-dykema-violates-campaign-finance-laws-2/
SJohnson September 08, 2012 at 01:01 PM
Dems and Repubs can go back and forth all they want to...words don't LIE. Here at this link: http://fleming-hayes.com/2012/09/busted-democrat-dykema-violates-campaign-finance-laws-2/ Voters can see for themselves where the 'Save the Date' invite from Dykema had the "PAID FOR BY THE COMMITTEE TO ELECT CAROLYN DYKEMA". No matter how you want to spin it...this picnic was first and foremost a campaign event. The GOP is absolutely correct in calling her out. Ms. Roney needs to man up and stop defending a law breaker. Law BREAKERS should not be law MAKERS.
Iron Mike September 08, 2012 at 01:38 PM
>> “Law BREAKERS should not be law MAKERS.” Very well and succinctly said indeed! Trouble is – that phenomenon has become routine here after 60 years of Democrat domination; i.e. Flaherty, Finneran and DiMasi,...and probably DeLeo soon enough – because Carmin Ortiz is bringing RICO charges against Probation Chief Jack O'Brien. I suppose Dykema's excuse is 'everybody does it', - and she's right – most all the Dems do. I watched Jamie Eldridge set out donation envelopes in a public library. He got a wrist slap. We need Dykema OUT, and Marty IN!
Mark Schultz September 08, 2012 at 03:46 PM
Mr. Lamb made a big deal about a "clean campaign pledge" that Ms. Dykema had no need. Shortly after Mr. Lamb's followers start daily accusations of corruption, bribery and illegal activities. He doesn't make the accusations himself, others do that and then repeats them. Clean campaign indeed. Ms. Dykema is being defended in the press by a former opponent, Dan Haley a Republican. Mentioning that the state party has no idea what they are doing in the district. Mr. Lamb has no knowledge of what the state party doing. It's amazing that the state party would decide to make these charges on it's own with no input from Mr. Lamb or his people. Mr. Lamb has no record of service or any plans to improve life for people in the district so he invents a "clean campaign pledge". When Ms. Dykema refuses to participate he runs a nasty campaign of name calling and distractions. We deserve better. Mr. Lamb has no desire to stick to issues. He has no record or ideas. He wants to cut taxes and bankrupt the state and town with no idea where to cut funding and oh yes let's legalize sparklers so that more people can get injured. (even Holliston's Fire Chief is opposed to that). Ms. Dykema is an honest and principled public servant that works tirelessly for the people of her district. She listens to their ideas and tries to put them into action. We need more like her in the legislature. What we don't need is the antics and destructive tactics of the Lamb campaign. Stick to the issues.
Mark Schultz September 08, 2012 at 03:54 PM
By the way citing Flemming-Hayes, a Republican blog is hardly citing a reliable source. NEWS is unbiased, this is site is hardly that. Another example how low this campaign will go. Let the people decide on facts, deeds and record of service. Not the opinions of slanted blogs. This tactic is disgusting. Why do good people avoid running for office. Crap like this.
Kelly Roney September 08, 2012 at 04:16 PM
At Southborough Summer Nights, there was a sign in front of one of the inflatable kid games that said, "Sponsored by Sen. Jamie Eldridge and Rep. Carolyn Dykema." So in your book that was a campaign event? When Carolyn sponsored a softball team in the Kampersal ALS tournament, was Marty Lamb staying away because he thought that was a campaign event!? It may surprise you but a campaign can publicize non-campaign events. The key piece of evidence that this was not a campaign event is the bipartisan cast of people who came to help - more than one Republican Selectman. I remember the 2010 picnic. Paul Loscocco, who had hosted the picnic from 2001 to 2008, was running for Lieutenant Governor. He came, no one thought about excluding him, but he was the only one campaigning, not Carolyn. In 2000, candidates of both major parties came, but Barbara Gardner didn't campaign while hosting. Lamb's just not the kind of community-oriented giver that Dykema is. Lamb is willing to damage a bipartisan tradition for his own political gain, and we should all punish him at the polls for it.
Dan Haley September 08, 2012 at 06:52 PM
A couple of important points: Yes, this complaint (which in my view is baseless and ill-advised) was filed by the Mass GOP. But the Mass GOP filed it at the insistence of the Lamb campaign. When I asked Marty about this at the polls Thursday morning he lied to my face, stating that neither he nor his campaign had anything to do with it. When I asked him to be very clear and tell me if he was saying his campaign had no involvement, he again lied to my face. Only when I told him I knew perfectly well that the complaint was filed at the insistence of his campaign consultant did he get flustered and allow that it had been "our idea." Now read that letter above again, sent to a newspaper and, by extension, to the voters. "I’m disappointed that [Dykema] would involve me in any way. The complaint was filed by the Massachusetts Republican Party... I am extremely disappointed she is trying to mislead your readers and the voters." Marty is careful not to say explicitly what he said to me verbally - that his campaign had "nothing to do with it." But the false impression he is trying to create is pretty clear. If Marty wanted to lodge a complaint, his campaign should have filed it. By dragging the party into an bone-headed attack on a long-standing, bipartisan, annual senior event he damages Republican brand and the party's candidates up and down the ballot. By peddling untruths to the voters he proves himself unworthy of their votes.
Mark Schultz September 08, 2012 at 09:38 PM
Dan, thank you for your brutal honesty. It does appear that Mr. Lamb and his followers have some explaining to do. While we may disagree on some issues it is refreshing that someone values honesty over party.
John Nugest September 08, 2012 at 11:51 PM
At least Carolyn was doing something for the seniors where was Marty that day trying to let sparklers legalized, grow up
Iron Mike September 09, 2012 at 02:48 PM
"Grow up' John? As in 'grow up - all the Democrats break the law - so what?' >> "At least Carolyn was doing something for seniors..." So THAT excuses law-breaking, - the ends justify the means? Is that a political opinion John, - a personal one, - or a legal one? Elected officials are generally held to a higher and tighter standard of ethics. Except in Democrat-dominated Taxachusetts, where too many of them have either been forced to resign over bad behavior, or get finger-slaps [Ted Kennedy], or end up in federal prison. Mz Dykema could have quickly admitted her blunder and apologized. Instead she's sent an army of supporters to the Patch to say 'it's no big thing – grow up'. Each passing day serves to highlight her indifference to the law and her overall arrogance. She serves us poorly. Marty Lamb - a far more humble and honest human being - will serve us much better.
Mark Schultz September 09, 2012 at 04:54 PM
Apparently "Iron Mike" didn't read the comment from Dan Haley, a fellow Republican. Mr. Lamb lied to his face. That's a real honest human being!
Kelly Roney September 09, 2012 at 05:00 PM
Rep. Dykema doesn't serve you, Rusty Mike. You live in Acton! Carolyn serves those of us who actually live and vote in the 8th Middlesex exceptionally well. The senior picnic has gone on for years with sponsored raffles that do not benefit politicians. Those politicians have been Democrats and Republicans alike, and this annual event has never been a political event, whether it's in an election year or not.
BJ Babineau September 09, 2012 at 05:04 PM
Wow. Talk about an ego problem. Haley lost and he wants to make sure no one shows him up. He is so jealous that he is now sabotaging the campaign. His theory is if he cannot win, no else can win. His ego would be killed if someone else won. What a pathetic excuse. Word on the street, he and his law firm were fired from the Brown campaign. He’s known.
Gina Sabin September 09, 2012 at 06:37 PM
The back and forth of she-said and he-said can go on forever. And, people will drag others out of the woodwork to make statements and shift attention for them. We see that a lot, there's all these people that come out and speak FOR a politician. There's usually some reason for the backstabbing, some axe to grind. Instead of pulling people out of the woodwork, Carolyn just could have taken care of this herself. This campaign finance office has this violation in front of them and they look into it. That's just the plain old facts. Usually, as we see with other things that come up on Beacon Hill, it causes more scrutiny and more things are reviewed at the same time, probably all kinds of finance reports and the like. So, that's a good thing. I'll never understand why politicians instead run and hide from this kind of thing. Doesn't it take so much more time. You would think just taking care of it would be easier. Something I'm working on teaching a 7 year old, but in simpler terms. They need to grow up to follow the law from the playground rules to adult life.
Iron Mike September 09, 2012 at 09:25 PM
Wrong again Kelly - every ELECTED OFFICIAL serves ALL the Taxpayers! They take an OATH. Mz Dykema dis-services us....by her votes, her attitude, and when she breaks the laws. BTW, I hope readers will note that while you posted a come-back, you FAILED to accept my challenge.
John Nugest September 09, 2012 at 10:41 PM
Again, I can't believe Marty has time for this with all the Sparkler legislature he's drafting. http://boston.cbslocal.com/2012/06/29/mass-state-rep-candidate-calls-sparkler-ban-anti-american/
Kelly Roney September 10, 2012 at 05:23 PM
Not that it matters, but her oath is to the Constitutions of Massachusetts and the U.S. OK, I should have said that Carolyn doesn't represent you, since you have your own representative, either Cory Atkins or Jen Benson, depending on where in Acton you live. You probably don't like them, either. As for your "challenge," here's one for you: Maybe you should write a letter to the editor of your own that tells why you so despise the very people, including liberal and moderate Democrats, whose constructive work has helped Massachusetts become such a vibrant and successful state. You could include and explanation why you hate the place you live so much that it isn't enough to have the best public education, the highest rate of health insurance, high average incomes, a 21st century economy, and the best treatment of veterans, among many other positives.
Iron Mike September 10, 2012 at 07:41 PM
Evan an ARMY of Roneys, Nugests, and Haleys blogging day and night cannot deflect attention of THINKING voters from Mz Dykema's über-liberal voting record, her elitist attitude, and her violations of the law.
John Nugest September 10, 2012 at 11:02 PM
Mikey you like sparklers?
Iron Mike September 11, 2012 at 01:44 AM
I don't like Mz Dykema's liberal voting record, - her elitist attitude, and her arrogance in not answering why she broke the law. Each hour passing proves she has nothing to offer by way of apology to the voters for violating her oath.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something